As a responsible alcohol server in Tennessee, it is imperitive to have a valid server permit. The server permit is the key to responsible serving, and it is important to keep up to date on the laws and regulations surrounding alcohol service. Not to mention, the server permit is also necessary for any individual who is looking to work in a licensed establishment that serves alcohol.
Introduction to the Tennessee ABC Alcohol Server Permit
The Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission (ABC) offers a server permit that is required for anyone who sells or serves alcoholic beverages in the state of Tennessee. This permit is valid for a few years years and must be renewed before the expiration date. In order to renew the permit, you must complete an online renewal application and pay the renewal fee. There are a few eligibility requirements that you must meet in order to renew the server permit. You must be at least 21 years of age, have a clean criminal record, and have successfully completed an approved responsible server training program. If you meet all of the eligibility requirements, you can renew your server permit online by visiting the ABCPermits.com website.
What is the ABC Server Permit Class (On-Premise Permit) Online Training?
The ABC Server Permit Class (On-Premise Permit) Online Training is an 3.5 hour course that covers the basics of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) law and regulations. Topics include: the history of ABC, licensing and permit requirements, types of permits, allowable activities, and penalties for violations. The course is designed for individuals who are responsible for selling or serving alcohol in an on-premise setting, such as restaurants, bars, and nightclubs.
The course is available online at the ABCPermits.com website. You have 21 days to complete the course, and it’s really easy if you choose to take the online version of the ABC Server Permit class because you can use your computer, tablet or phone – anytime, anywhere!
Seems Easy… Is ABCPermits.com Online Tennessee Alcohol Server Permit Training Legit?
There are several approved alcohol server training programs in Tennessee. ABCPermits.com offers online and in-person classroom courses, and they all satisfy the server permit requirement for Tennessee, to serve alcohol at any liquor-by-the-drink establishment. You MUST have an RLPS# before your server permit can be issued. You will have 21 days to complete the course. If you have questions e-mail: email@example.com
Duration: 3.5 Hours
This course covers topics such as responsible alcohol service, ID checking, and Tennessee alcohol laws.
If you are authorized to work in the United States, you can obtain a Tennessee server permit. The permit is valid for five years and can be renewed online.
The Benefits of a Tennessee Alcohol Server Permit
A valid Tennessee alcohol server permit is an important document for employees of any business that sells or serves alcohol. Obtaining a permit is a relatively simple process, and the benefits of having one are many.
A server permit allows employees to serve alcohol in accordance with state laws. This includes verifying the age of customers and ensuring that they are not consuming too much alcohol. Employees who have a server permit are also better trained in recognizing the signs of intoxication and in how to deal with difficult customers.
In addition to the safety benefits, having a server permit can also help businesses avoid fines and penalties. Tennessee state law requires that all employees of businesses that sell alcohol have a valid server permit. Failing to comply can result in significant fines.
Sounds Great. What’s the First Step to Getting my Tennessee Alcohol Server Permit Online?
First, you must apply for your RLPS before taking an accredited abc server permit class. This RLPS is the application process that can only be done online at rlps.abc.tn.gov/citizenaccess.
Once you have completed the application process you will be given an RLPS number that will be formatted in the following format: Example: 21A-NPER-SER-000000.
You will take this RLPS number and provide it to your in-person class trainer or in the RLPS field for the online ABC course.
For step by step instructions for the RLPS, click here for the video: (will send to you in email)